Opinion The MJ

4 12 Opinion Opinion

 

    • Ben Page

    The move to home working poses huge problems

    By Ben Page | February 26, 2021

    The trend to more working from home looks set to continue post COVID, says Ben Page. 'But it poses huge problems for anyone invested in commercial property or city centres – which includes many local authorities.'

    • Adele Taylor

    Working together in perfect harmony

    By Adele Taylor | February 26, 2021

    Teams are a blend of personalities and attributes that work together in harmony, 'so don’t assume you won’t fit if you have slightly different skills and experience', says Adele Taylor.

    How can we make recruitment more truly inclusive?

    By Tracy Walters | February 26, 2021

    Tracy Walters looks at ways recruiters can recognise and address unconscious bias, engage with a diverse range of talents and tap into a bigger pool of candidates.

    Tackling the big four vaccine challenges

    By Jim McManus | February 26, 2021

    Tackling inequity in vaccination uptake depends on resolving what Jim McManus calls the big four challenges – and councils’ role is crucial.

    Whatever happened to Devo 3.0?

    By Steve Barwick | February 26, 2021

    Devolution is here to stay ‘no matter if the Government’s preferred phrase is now place and if they want to talk in terms of levelling up not rebalancing’, says Steve Barwick of DevoConnect.

    A chance to speak as one

    By Adam Lent | February 26, 2021

    Community power is gaining momentum across the public sector, says Adam Lent. In advance of New Local’s ‘Stronger Things’ event in March, he outlines why it’s time to build a united voice for change.

    Putting the power into place

    By Cllr Judith Blake and Cllr Georgia Gould | February 25, 2021

    The past year has highlighted inequalities and exposed the inadequacy of centralisation while councils are dealing with a threadbare funding system. Cllr Georgia Gould and Baroness Judith Blake say funding and powers for places could make it better.

    A crucial step for Luton’s recovery

    By Cllr Hazel Simmons | February 25, 2021

    Luton BC’s capitalisation direction will allow the council to temporarily borrow money to fund services until its commercial revenue recovers, says Cllr Hazel Simmons.

    Building citizen centred systems to deliver the best integrated care

    By Anja Beriro | February 25, 2021

    Local government has the mechanisms and knowledge to ensure place, neighbourhoods and citizens are at the heart of integrated care systems which are responsive to local needs and accountable to communities, says Anja Beriro of Browne Jacobson.

    Post pandemic public purse propositions

    By Tim Byles and Mike Bennett | February 24, 2021

    Mike Bennett and Tim Byles outline a holistic and strategic approach on post pandemic public spending in order to navigate the dangers ahead.

    Our chance is now on climate change

    By Gill Kneller | February 24, 2021

    The penalty for not using our new pandemic mindset doesn’t bear thinking about, says Gill Kneller. 'With climate change, there won’t be another chance. Our chance is now', she adds.

    Town recovery the tailored way

    By Katie Hickman | February 24, 2021

    The pandemic has made delivering strong, more inclusive and resilient towns crucial, argues Katie Hickman. Here, she outlines the two key elements that will ensure the success of the £3.6bn Towns Fund programme.