Telford & Wrekin named Council of the Year at MJ Awards

By Martin Ford | 24 June 2022

Telford & Wrekin Council has claimed the biggest prize of the day at The MJ Achievement Awards 2022.

The unitary authority in Shropshire was named Local Authority of the Year at the climax of this afternoon’s ceremony.

In a tightly-contested field, Telford & Wrekin fought off five other finalists with its ‘hyper local approach to service delivery’ and fostering of a sense of empowerment among its employees.

Judges said the council was a 'place shaper with a positive focus on partnerships as well as its residents’.

A total of 18 prizes were handed out at the Park Plaza Hotel in Westminster with high-profile journalist and TV presenter Clive Myrie ‘masterminding’ proceedings.

Other winners included Monica Fogarty, of Warwickshire CC, who took home the coveted award for Chief Executive of the Year, while Nigel Minns made it a double for the authority after claiming the prize for Corporate Director of the Year.

Editor of The MJ and awards co-host Heather Jameson said: ‘Local government at its best is extraordinary and it is an absolute privilege to celebrate its achievements.

'Everyone in the sector is a winner in my book.

‘I want to say a huge thanks to everyone involved in the awards - all the entrants, judges and sponsors.

'But, most of all, congratulations to all our winners – you are an inspiration to us all.’

comments powered by Disqus
Chief executives People MJ Awards Council staff